Intelligent Design, The Science of it All

A Question an Atheist can not Answer

I do a lot of research on evolution, Darwinism, Neo-Darwinism and creationism.  I have several spreadsheets where I list various qualities of each with X-marks.  You have seen them, where they list the pluses and minuses of different mobile carriers.  In my research, I have come up with a question that I have not been able to answer. Therefore, I sent emails to both secular and Biblical scientists.

question_mark

These are the individuals I have contacted (while two of them have died they have publicists and foundations that promote their beliefs.)

Carl Wieland : Wieland is a medical doctor who graduated from Adelaide University in South Australia. Wieland has said that during his time at university he was an atheist. In 1976 Wieland formed the Creation Science Association (CSA

Jonathan Sarfati:  He has a PhD in chemistry.  He is the author of many articles and books about creation science

 

Michael Behe:  is an American biochemist, author, and intelligent design (ID) advocate

William Dembski:  an American mathematician, philosopher and theologian. A proponent of intelligent design (ID), specifically the concept of specified complexity.

 

Denis Lamoureux  holds a professorial chair of science and religion at St. Joseph’s College at the University of Alberta. He has doctoral degrees in dentistry, theology, and biology.  He calls himself an evolutionary creationist

 

Richard Dawkins: An English  ethologist, evolutionary biologist, and writer.  Dawkins is a noted atheist, and is well known for his criticism of creationism and intelligent design.

Niles Eldredge:  proposed punctuated equilibria in 1972. Punctuated equilibrium is a refinement to evolutionary theory. It describes patterns of descent taking place in “fits and starts” separated by long periods of stability.

Stephen Jay Gould:  an American paleontologist, evolutionary biologist, and historian of science. I contacted his publisher: W. W. Norton

Jerry A. Coyne:  an American professor of biology.  A prolific scientist and author, he has published dozens of papers elucidating the theory of evolution.

Ernst Mayr: was one of the 20th century’s leading evolutionary biologists. He was also a renowned taxonomist, tropical explorer, ornithologist, philosopher of biology, and historian of science.  I contacted his publicist at Harvard University Press.

Lawrence Krauss:  an American theoretical physicist and cosmologist.  Krauss describes himself as an antitheist and takes part in public debates on religion.

It has taken me a little over three months to get answers back from all the individuals listed.  I was not sure if I should announce the following, but I have decided to because I believe it indicates something about the individuals – you can figure it out.  Wieland, Sarfati, Behe and Dembski  all answered within two weeks time and provided links to articles that would assist me, if they did not have a specific discussion in their books about my question.  If they did, they pointed out the chapter to look within for the answers.

Lamoureux  responded in a fashion typical of his writings.  It made no sense.  He is struggling to make evolution fit within Biblical concepts, and he is one confused man.

Dawkins, Gould, Krauss, Mayr, Coyne and Eldredge took almost two months to respond and to a person (or their representative) all said that I could find my answer in their books.  I replied that I had read their books and had not come across the answer as of yet.   I asked if they could point out which book and approximately where I might find the answer I was seeking.  They all, except for one, responded with just read their books.  The other one sent me an Amazon card for $5 to buy one of his books.

What is the question that has stumped atheists and to some extent creationists and Intelligent designers?    It goes like this:

Given the concept of evolutionary theory or Neo-Darwinism that all life was created from non-living particles and chemicals in something akin to the “primordial soup”, where along the evolutionary mutation pattern did a multi-cellular organism, diverge from the process of mutating or morphing into an animal and became a plant?  Did some of the amoebas that were aiming to be atheists suddenly decide that there was an ecological niche to become plankton and then end up being a poplar tree?

Well, I’m still waiting for the atheists to respond.  I have no problem with the answers from the ID folks or the creationists.  All things were created by God during the first six days, and it was good.

Leave a Reply

